Cosplay.com: An online forum for those who cosplay, including ideas for costumes as well as tips for participating in a contest and the judging criteria for some contests.
Cubeecraft: Created by Christopher Beaumont, this site has a wide assortment of pop culture character designs available for free download. Be sure to check out the "About" and "FAQ" sections of the site before getting started.
RiffTrax: Created because of the popularity of Mystery Science Theater 3000, this website offers registered users the ability to purchase access to pre-created comedy tracks that play along with a movie.
Shaven Wookie: Scripts that can be used for audience participation when watching Star Wars.
Astronauts and Aliens: A collection of planning documents, activities, and handouts for star parties, sun parties, and other space science events, as developed by NASA for the Northwest project at Montana State University.
Games Workshop: The official website of Games Workshop, a British miniature war-gaming company.
Geocaching: A website dedicated to geocaching, an outdoor recreational activity that uses GPS coordinates to locate hidden caches all over the world.
Geocaching Scavenger Hunt: An example of libraries using geocaching to create a scavenger hunt; the Toronto Public Library hid caches at multiple branches and offered hints and coordinates for finding them, as well as guides on how to participate.
GISHWHES: The official site of the Greatest International Scavenger Hunt the World Has Ever Seen, founded by actor Misha Collins. Provides numerous examples of photo and video scavenger hunt tasks, which could be used when brainstorming for any scavenger hunt.
Night Sky Network: A coalition of amateur astronomy clubs around the United States, hosted by NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory at the California Institute of Technology. This resource allows you to search for local astronomy organizations.
Photo Scavenger Hunts: A guide to doing photo scavenger hunts outside the library with teens and phones. A scavenger hunt list and suggested rules are included.
Planet Party: A planning and activity guide from STAR_net for hosting a viewing party and partnering with a local astronomical society.
Program Model: Telescope Lending Program: An outline of how to plan, budget, and advocate for a telescope lending program, based on the partnership of the St. Louis County Library District and the St. Louis Astronomical Society.
The Science of Slime: An article detailing the science that occurs when you make slime, with information about non-Newtonian fluids and viscosity.
The Skyping Renaissance: For parents and educators, a School Library Journal article on different uses for Skype for education and author visits. Includes a list of Skype author and classroom resources.
Breakout EDU: An immersive game platform for all ages; players work collaboratively to solve a series of critical thinking puzzles in order to open a locked box. Kits are available for purchase and educational games can be downloaded for free. We have a kit at the library!
Escape Rooms: Escape the Ordinary: The Teen Services Underground blog outlines how the Fairfield Public Library hosted an escape room, including a manual that provides technical details on how to create a similar program at your library. This blog offers several entries on escape-room programming.
Harry Potter Escape Room: This Teen Services Underground blog entry offers detailed instructions about creating a Harry Potter-themed escape room, along with resources. This blog offers several entries on escape-room programming.
International Dark-Sky Association: Official website of the International Dark-Sky Association, an organization dedicated to raising awareness of light pollution and advocating for night-sky conservation.
List of Fictional Spacecraft: A Wikipedia entry gathering a list of space stations and ships from fictional universes such as Star Trek, Star Wars, Battlestar Galactica, Doctor Who, and many other sources.
Lock Paper Scissors: Downloadable escape-room scenarios, as well as kits, are available for purchase so you can run your own escape room from any location
Why We Need Darkness to Survive?: A TEDx Talk on YouTube by Diane Knutson, a former park ranger, who lectures about the impact of light pollution on our entire ecosystem and actions that we can take to combat it.
15 Best Space Watching Apps: Provides a list of recommended astronomy-related apps for Android and iOS devices. Many of these apps use augmented-reality technology to identify constellations and objects in the night sky.
Archeoastronomy: A collection of storytelling resources for different cultures, all with a focus on astronomy-based mythology.
Book Tasting Program: This Teen Services Underground blog entry offers detailed instructions about running a book-tasting program, complete with menus, timeline, and materials needed.
Constellation Assignment: A homework assignment for students studying constellations. It provides instructions for how to design a constellation, asks astronomy-based questions, and encourages students to create a myth for their constellation.
Dennis Schatz: Educator, author, and Senior Advisor to the Pacific Science Center, Dennis Schatz's official website features some of his favorite science activities, curriculum, and publications.
DIY Clothes! 3 DIY Shoe Projects: A YouTube video demonstrating how to make over shoes, including a tutorial on using acrylic paint on black canvas boots to create a galaxy-style look.
DIY: Constellation Jar: Detailed instructions, with pictures, on how to use a disposable cake pan to create a constellation jar.
DIY Galaxy Shoes!: Step-by-step instructions, with pictures, for making galaxy tennis shoes.
Hokule'a - Polynesian Voyaging Society: The Polynesia Voyaging Society seeks to perpetuate the art and science of traditional Polynesian voyaging through educational programs meant to inspire students and their communities.
Lesson 1: Create a Constellation: A detailed lesson plan from the Pacific Science Center for instructing students in designing a constellation and teaching them about astronomy-based mythology.
Make a Star Finder: Instructions for making a simple star finder, with downloadable charts for each month, provided by NASA.
Moana (2016): A series of lessons for teens surrounding the movie Moana. Subjects include music of the South Pacific, Asian, and Pacific Islander heritage, as well as Polynesian navigation.
Moana Educator's Guide: A resource featuring lessons on the hero's journey, wayfinding, music, and caring for sea turtles, all built around the Disney movie Moana.
National Storytelling Network: The National Storytelling Network's official website, which includes a feature to search for local storytellers or a list of guilds in the United States, with contact information.
Navigating at Sea: The Smithsonian provides information about the history and challenges of navigation at sea.
Simple Geo Board: An explanation, with examples, of how to use a geoboard to create geometric shape, and patterns.
Space Science: Introduction to Stars: Six YouTube videos from Crash Course Kids, with information about kinds of stars, identification of constellations, and the reason we see different stars depending on the season.
Staff Bios: A list of the team of staff creating curriculum for the University of Hawai'i at Manoa's Exploring Our Fluid Earth program.
String Art on Cork: An art-focused blog entry on how to make string art using a cork round.