Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The following resources provide an opportunity to explore Greek art as well as other areas of art history. May they help you on your journey!
ProQuest Art and Architecture Archive
Research resource that focuses on art and architecture over the years. The database allows users to seek, and filter, almost any kind of information on art and architecture.
Oxford Art Online
An online resource that focuses on artists and history. Users are able to search from a variety of terms such as medium, art movement, and historical period.
If you are in the Urbana area, plan a visit. Spurlock has a large Greek exhibit as well as a plaster-cast copy of Laocoön.
A non-profit, public art history site that provides straightforward, cohesive analysis of various types of art throughout the ages.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art
Site for 'TheMet' provides opportunities to look into its art exhibitions and collections.
The Louvre Museum
Explore the vast collection of the Louvre. The museum contains the exhibition for 'Laocoön and His Sons', 'Winged Victory of Samothrace', and many more.
Art History News
A blog that explores various trends within art history.
Be sure to explore the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Main Library and the Rickert Art & Architecture Library webpages. In both, you are able to find books, journals, as well as a link to various resources within their databases.
Children in the Hellenistic World by
Call Number: 733.5 B6308c
Publication Date: 2015-02-11
This volume explores the depiction of children in the Hellenistic period. The book also provides an in-depth analysis of how ideologies shaped children in art.
Power and Pathos by
Call Number: Q. 733.3 P8717
Publication Date: 2015-05-01
This book explores bronze Hellenistic sculptures that have remained in the peripheral in comparison to its contemporary pieces. It also explores techniques used to produce these works of art.