Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A peer-reviewed journal with many articles on worldwide textile and knitting history.
A special-interest periodical on historic knitting, crochet, and other needlework. Articles explore historic publications, patterns, and processes through a modern lens.
Images of Knitting
A database of digital images useful for finding images of historic knitting and knitters.
The Victoria & Albert Museum Collection
The Victoria & Albert Museum has one of the most extensive collections of knitted materials. Images are available for most of their items.
Rare Books & Manuscripts Library at UIUC
Tennyson Library of Crochet & Related Arts
The University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Rare Book & Manuscript Library houses the Tennyson Library of Crochet & Related Arts collection. The library is comprised of over 5,000 resources collected and donated by Gilbert E. Witte. Materials date from 1844-2014.
Knitting as an Art
Knitting is commonly considered a hobby, but makes use of motifs and design similar to works of art. These databases are helpful for studying knitting as an art.
Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI)
Design and Applied Arts Index is an essential database for anyone studying knitting as an art form. The database indexes scholarly articles, news, and reviews from the mid-nineteenth century onward.
Art and Architecture Archive
This database covers art and architecture magazines from the late-nineteenth century onward, including many that are useful for researching knitting as an art form. Craft magazines are also included.
Art & Architecture Source
A database that includes content on knitting from art publications, including international sources.
Cultural & Social History of Knitting
Women's Wear Daily Archive
An index of issues of Women's Wear Daily from 1910 to present day. Provides coverage of detailed knitting information such as knitwear trends, yarn manufacturers, and cultural issues surrounding knitting.
World's Fairs exhibited innovations in the 19th and 20th centuries, include knitting technology innovations. Exhibitions detail knitted objects and knitting technological advances on display. A variety of primary sources available from World's Fairs highlight achievements in knitting.
No Idle Hands by
Call Number: TT819 .U6 M33 1988
Publication Date: 1988
A social history of knitting in America, from the 17th century onward. Emphasizes the role of women in knitting history.
Stitch 'n Bitch by
Call Number: Residence Hall Florida Avenue Library Stack 746.432
Publication Date: 2004
This recent knitter's handbook by the editor of Bust magazine is an essential primary resource to recent knitting history and the boom in knitting popularity in the last two decades.